Life is a Wiggle

Yesterday was IEP day. It always causes me anxiety and stress. It was the reason that this meme was born:

image

In the days leading up to it I try to mentally prepare myself for it. I have to admit, I can’t say I have really ever had a bad experience. For that, I am grateful. I really do feel that his team has always had his best interests at heart.

It is just the whole process that puts me on edge. It makes me feel..anxious, uneasy and uncomfortable. I have always attended the meetings alone. Unless of course you count last year. Jordan, my 6 year old at the time, had to come with me. I jokingly called her my “Little Enforcer”.

Yesterday’s meeting went well. He got the services I believe he needs.

The part that gets me, is hearing about where he struggles. It is not something I talk about here often. He does struggle, in so many areas. It is hard to listen to. I know it is coming, but it never makes it easier to hear. Of course I hear the good things too, but it is the struggles that stay in the front of my mind. I left and felt, for lack of a better word, Blah all day. I spent most of it in a sort of fog.

Then, he got home from school. He got off the bus and flashed his handsome little grin at me. “Hi mommy! You know, it is raining out!” He proceeded to walk to the car giggling, and trying to catch the raindrops on his tongue. I just watched him and smiled.

We got home from the bus stop. “Mommy, will you come watch Angry Birds Tunes with me?” Of course I did. And he laughed, his most contagious belly laugh. How could a person not feel better after hearing their child snort from laughing so much.

Yep…some things are more difficult for him, and they may always be. I don’t know what the future holds and I TRY not to think ahead too much. BUT, he works so hard. He has made such progress over the last few years. I have to remind myself of that on days like yesterday. There will always be hiccups, but he is healthy and happy. I really can’t ask for more than that.

As I was writing this, I saw my friend Jane post a picture of the fortune her daughter Janelle got in her fortune cookie. I loved it, and thought it was fitting here:

image

Leave a Reply

Living on the Spectrum: The Connor Chronicles

Our family's adventures in the world of ADHD and Autism.

An Autism Diary

A day in the life of David Hartley

Living In The Puzzle

Everyday experiences with my son who has Autism

Our Special Journey Through Autism

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Autism in Malaysia

Everyday, we learn something new about Autism.

Miss Medical Mishap

Life, Liberty and the Pursuit of Healthiness

Inside the Mind of an Aspie

The views expressed in this blog are opinions. This blog is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, cause, worsen, or delay any disease or mental health state. To contact me, e-mail aspieblogger@gmail.com

Fighting for Hope's Blog

Raising Awareness of Green Issues and Solutions

What Sarah thought next...

...on books and other activities.

Special Needs Parenting

Finding Faith And Friendship On The Special Needs Journey

rmreynoldsblog

Semi-retired psychologist shares his experience.

lifeonmarrs

We are a family of five. Like all families, we have our good, bad, and funny. Our oldest son has mitochondrial disease, this is our journey...

